TLS Members e-Newsletter

Members eNewsletter
At least four times a year, TLS members are rewarded at their inboxes with a copy of the Labyrinth Society e-newsletter. It serves as a means of direct communication with the membership and provides an historical record of the Society.

The Labyrinth Society Elects Four New Board Members and Welcomes a New President

This year was an especially provocative one for the TLS Nominating Committee, charged with identifying, recruiting, vetting, and recommending new members to the board, as well as making a recommendation for the new TLS President this year to replace John Rhodes, whose term was expiring. This year the membership unanimously elected four new TLS members to the board: Katja Marquart, Jodi Lorimer, Lars Howlett and Beth Langley. The new board members were all elected as members-at-large without specific positions assigned to them.

After the Annual Meeting, the existing and newly-elected board members met informally to allow two of the existing members to move laterally into new positions, to elect the new President, to assign the new members their new positions, and to allow the EC to elect two new Vice Presidents.

  • Christiana Brinton moved laterally from Nominating Chair to PR Chair
  • Kay Kinneavy moved laterally from Projects Chair to the Membership Chair, vacated by Sherry Biltz whose term ended this year.
  • Kay Whipple was elected as the new President, leaving the Resources VP and Web Chair positions vacant.
  • Jodi Lorimer was assigned to Projects Chair.
  • Lars Howlett was assigned to Web Chair.
  • Beth Langley was assigned to Nominating Chair.
  • Katja Marquart was elected to Treasurer and assigned to Finance Chair.
  • Diane Rudebock was elected to be the new Resources VP and remains Research Chair.
  • Christiana Brinton was elected to be the new Communications VP, as well as serve as PR Chair.

The following board members remain in their current jobs:

  • Hallie Sawyers, Outreach VP and Educational Outreach Chair
  • Kay Sandor, Secretary
  • Stephen Shibley, Gathering Liaison
  • Mark Milligan, Energy Keepers Chair
  • Vanessa Compton, Publications Chair

The TLS Board of Directors is now in fine position to act on the strategic initiatives formulated by the board so that: by 2018 TLS will become a global information hub weaving together local and worldwide labyrinth communities. We hope the TLS membership appreciates all the hard work that went into making this a responsive and responsible board of directors, and we look forward to the plethora of labyrinth opportunities that will develop out of these actions and the wonderfully creative members who will join us in this endeavor!